November 6, 2007

The TGV takes 3 hours exactly from Grenoble to Paris

Posted in TV and movies, Visitors tagged , , , , , , at 1:39 pm by Lauren

And thus Elizabeth arrived at the Gare de Lyon on Friday, October 26! For those who don’t know, Elizabeth was my roommate in Montpellier. We decided to room together after we discovered that we could spend hours wandering around the city without talking to each other. We figured that was a good basis for a peaceful living arrangement. Fortunately, we were right (though I’m sure I drove her nuts often enough).

Even before Allen was offered the job here, we knew Elizabeth was going to be in Grenoble for the year. She’s working with her university’s study abroad program, guiding around all of the young, lost students (like we used to be!). In the meantime, she’s researching for her dissertation, which necessitates a trip to Paris every other month or so. We couldn’t have been happier to be here at the same time as she is! Seeing her come off the train gave me a rush of the familiar; we were in France together again, and she’d know just how I was feeling about everything.

I’m afraid we did too much complaining during her visit – at least, I know I did. Primarily this is because you really have to carefully choose who you complain to when your worst problem is a stale baguette. I’ll leave the door closed on my complaints here because my problems are the type I’m happy to have. Still it was nice to have a friend whose perspective on living in France came from a similar place. (For the record, we both miss Montpellier, except the constant harrassment of creepy guys, which is strangely absent from Paris and Grenoble.)

Happily, we also did a huge amount of walking while she was here. But Friday night we just relaxed at L’Epicerie Fuxia (our Italian restaurant that we like so much) and caught up over a bottle of red wine.

2 Comments »

  1. GHAZI TAAN said,

    HI
    HOW MUCH DOES IT COST FROM PARIS TO GRENOBLE BY TGV ,2ND CLASS 2WAYS,.CAN I GO TO NICE BY CAR DAILY,THANK U

  2. Lauren said,

    For prices, I’d advise you to check out http://www.sncf-voyages.com. Unfortunately, I haven’t driven in France, so I can’t help you with that! Good luck with your trip!


Leave a comment