October 8, 2007

The search ends at last! (We think…)

Posted in Babysitting tagged at 11:23 am by Lauren

After over two weeks (out of the three I’ve been here) of looking at babysitter wanted ads, emailing back and forth with prospective employers, and meeting families, I think the search is finally over.

I wasn’t able to find something over the long term that had as many hours as I wanted. My best choice was working for a woman in the 14th arrondissement who has a 16 month old girl. She needed 20-25 hours a week, which was my ideal. The hours are ideal too: 8:30 am to 2:00 pm on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday. I go take over in the morning, get the little girl dressed, fed, and we play at home and at the park, she takes a nap, and at 2 pm I drop her off at the daycare for the rest of the day. The only problem is that she only needs someone from October 29 to November 30, which is 5 weeks out of the 9 I had available to work. I took the job anyway because I liked the hours and because the average of hours over the 9 weeks is sufficient financially. There’s a chance that I could continue with this family in the spring, but they just don’t know their schedule yet at all.

Then I set out to find something else for either Wednesdays or afternoons so that I could supplement the first job over the extent of the winter at least. I had a couple of options but last night choose a teaching option in the 15th arrondissement, which pays a bit more per hour so that I can work fewer in person hours (there’s still preparation time). So on Tuesday afternoons from 4:30 to 6:30 I’ll be teaching two seven-year-old girls, and on Thursday afternoons at the same time I’ll just have one of them. They’re both total beginners. I honestly didn’t want to teach this year, because of the extra preparation hours (taking work home) and the need to buy resources that I didn’t bring with me (ie, everything), but the extra pay per hour and the need to make a quick decision for this family (who wants me to start tomorrow) won out.

Both of these jobs are about 45 minute/2 mile walks from my house, though in slightly different directions. There’s about a mile between them for the weeks that the two jobs overlap. So I’ll be doing a lot of walking, which was my wish!

Finally, in addition to my daytime hours, I have one evening a week with an American family that lives five minutes from me. I found them during my first week! Since then I’ve babysat three times already, once a week like clockwork but on different days depending on their schedule for the week. They have a 3-year-old boy and a little girl who was born 11 days after my niece Katherine and shares the same name. So far the kids have gone to sleep before their parents left, and Allen’s able to come with me and watch movies.

Between those three jobs, I’ll be working about 17.5 hours a week and getting paid for about 21.5 (that’s how I like to look at the teaching position – as getting paid for more hours than I would have been).  That’s on average since the bulk of the work is in the month of November. So, that’s it! Done! It’s nice to stop trolling the wanted ads and just get focused on moving forward with what I have now. Though, knowing me, I’ll probably pick up some temporary work here and there – but only during the daytime, as I’m trying to set some new limits for myself and change a few habits while I have the time!

1 Comment »

  1. Brandi said,

    YAY! I love the updates of the life and times of the Schmanz household… sounds like all is on its way to being set! CONGRATS 🙂 What an exciting time of life!


Leave a Reply

