December 6, 2007

Christmas shopping weekend

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 11:22 am by Lauren

I am desparate to share the genius ideas Allen and I had while Christmas shopping this weekend and the brilliant places we found gifts, but I’m afraid that would ruin all the fun for those receiving the gifts. Suffice it to say that we are brilliant geniuses (did I mention that?), and that if you don’t like your gifts, please return them to us so that we can continue to enjoy our genius ourselves.

This weekend also included a blast-from-the-past reunion of sorts, with a visit from Aysha, my freshman roommate in college. From staying in touch with my good friend Catherine, I reunited with Ann here. Ann’s getting her MBA right outside of Paris, and we used to swing dance together. Ann has kept in touch with Aysha and also with Eugenia, another friend from my swing-dancing sophomore year. It turns out that Eugenia is also studying in Paris, and the four of us plus Allen had lunch together on Saturday at a very good Thai restaurant in the 3rd arrondissement. It was nice to see them again, and I guess it just goes to show that you never know who you’ll reconnect with in your lifetime.

After that, we went to a secret location in Paris where Dick Cheney is hidden. Just kidding, it’s where we did some shopping. We got closer to the Eiffel Tower than I’ve been since arriving, and I was reminded of what an impressive site it really is. Allen and I had a laugh because we’d forgotten the camera at lunch time, and now we wished we’d had it even more.

On Sunday (Nov 25), we came up with an even more brilliant idea of where to shop for gifts, particularly because it was open on Sundays! We then went and found something for everyone remaining on our list! It was very satisfying, as I’m sure you can glean from my tone. (Glean? I am hammering it into you!)

When we got home, Allen turned on the football game (the Redskins were a disaster), and I peeled the “Made in China” stickers off all our purchases. A successful weekend, indeed.

2 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    Lynn just finished reading a book about a family who lived a year without purchasing anything “Made in China.” They found it quite difficult and an eye-opening experience. I think it has a clever title like A Year Without Made In China. It’s sad that both the American and French economies don’t include many homemade products. Anyway, I made read it next. If so, I’ll pass it on.

  2. chezschmanz said,

    Sounds like an interesting book. I’ll have to pick it up when I get back to the States!


Leave a Reply

