January 30, 2008

What I did instead

Posted in Daily life tagged , , at 1:33 am by Lauren

I actually had a social engagement this evening. I even thought to myself, “I’ll have something to blog about!” The two mothers I babysit for three days a week have a girl’s night every now and then, and though they only invited me because I was standing around as they discussed it, I jumped at the opportunity to go along. Alas, it was cancelled. Neither of their husbands could get home in time to watch the babies while we went to an 8 pm movie showing blocks from their houses. (When one mom called to tell me this, I thought, “Should I offer to babysit?” I thought that might send the wrong message though – or indicate that they had.)

Instead, I went home, surprising Allen who’d thought he’d see me next on Wednesday morning. We watched a movie (No Country for Old Men – really creepy and disturbing!), and I logged several hours of work on my new pet project: my resume.

Okay, I know it’s boring. I’m living in the City of Lights, and I’ve lived on cereal for a week, and I’m writing my resume instead of wandering the Seine with a tall handsome French man. (Fortunately, I’m married to one, in case I do come to my senses and want to take an evening walk.) But it some ways it’s exciting. I have not had an electronic resume since September 2006, when our house was broken into and our computer stolen. Of course, that also means a lot of updates to add my teaching job, graduate education, presentations at conferences… It’s been satisfying to see how far I’ve come in the past couple of years.

Still, it’s no moonlit stroll under the sparkling Eiffel Tower. I’ll work on that for you all.

Leave a Reply

