July 31, 2008

In which I get some exercise

Posted in Daily life tagged , , , , , , at 12:17 am by Lauren

I can always remember Jenna’s birthday because of this: Jenna’s is on July 30, Harry Potter’s is July 31, and Elizabeth’s is August 1. Who could forget?

Today I was meeting Jenna in Georgetown at 1 pm, and because my bike was in Georgetown waiting to be picked up, I decided to pretend I was an athlete (or even just someone in reasonable shape) and ride my bike home afterwards. That required a bit of pre-planning on my part, which involved running a quarter of a mile to catch the bus to Rosslyn on time (I shot out of the bushes, arm outstretched, just as the bus was about to pass) and walking over the Key Bridge into Georgetown. As I did, I thought about taking a picture for my blog, but the air just looked like there was an advisory for bad air quality.

In Georgetown, I bought a new top (hurrah!) and met Jenna at Lush. We shopped at a few stores, but I didn’t buy anything else (despite my best efforts). Jenna on the other hand had a nice birthday spree. Then we met Jenna’s friend Megan at Agraria, an organic restaurant on the waterfront. I had a delicious pulled pork sandwich, shared fried green tomatos, and downed a glass of prosecco (excellent preparation for a bike ride).

After lunch, we parted ways, and I went to pick up my bike. Then the fun began. I rode across Key Bridge and up onto the Custis Trail. When I passed the marker for the first half mile, I knew I was in trouble. I was having trouble breathing, and I could already “feel the burn” as they say. I cut away from the trail, determining to find the more direct route along Route 50. So I cut through Courthouse/Clarendon and turned on Pershing. Then I took Filmore to Route 50 and rode along the edge of 50 mph traffic. For most of the way it was fine, but there was a 50 foot stretch near the overpass to Thomas Jefferson rec center (where the county fair will be in one week!) where I had to ride on the shoulder of the highway. That was really not okay with me, and I was annoyed that no signs had told me to cross the road at the light to avoid it. But I survived, continuing up Route 50 to Glebe, where I cut through to George Mason and Arlington Oaks and hung a left to ride down to the house. Then I came right inside and plotted my route on Google Pedometer, while downing buckets of water (to replace the buckets of sweat). I rode 4.9 miles! Here’s my bike route: http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=2127688

I was thinking of biking to my pre-employment orientation tomorrow, but with the amount I sweated on the way today, I think it wouldn’t look very professional. Maybe once I get the panting under control and my heart can recover within ten minutes.

Leave a Reply

