September 8, 2008

Chinese water torture

Posted in Daily life tagged , at 6:56 pm by Lauren

The leak is back.

When I heard that today, I felt a bit defeated. Allen and I spent our Labor Day weekend replacing the leaking porch on the Otis Street house, with high hopes that no more water would drip into my brother’s bedroom. We chiseled and hammered off the giant (and heavy!) flagstone, put in a new plywood subfloor, put down concrete backerboard, and tiled the porch with slate. Then we caulked and sealed it.

This weekend’s weather was the ultimate test for the new porch when hurricane (tropical storm? bluster?) Hanna came through. Unfortunately, we failed the test. Water leaked through above my brother’s bed again.

So, I guess we’re not the porch gods I made us out to be earlier this week. We’re going to have to go back and do some more caulking. But on the up side: we have a new porch on the house!

Leave a Reply

