August 15, 2009

When you can eat again, we’ll have a party!

Posted in Cross Stitching, Food tagged , , , , , at 7:37 pm by Lauren

I am eating this delicious organic corn chipotle bisque (or whatever fancy name it has) that looks suspiciously like gruel and pondering how I’m going to feel tomorrow when the liquid vicodin runs out, WHICH IT WILL. (Ominous music plays on in the background…)

Between my trip to Texas last week and my laid-in state this week, I’ve managed to finish reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver (though not before I let an ice pack melt all over it and ruin it for anyone else who might want to read that copy). So all I can think of is fresh produce (particularly heirloom tomatoes) and grass-fed meats, and all I can actually eat is my gruel (which again, does taste good). I’m having all these fantasies about the farmer’s market and pick-your-own fruit farms and canning and preserving some produce for the winter. If anybody has any guidance there, please do let me know!

Speaking of produce, next week is the Arlington County Fair, and I plan on entering a piece of my cross stitch. I have this feeling that I’ve always wanted to enter something in the county fair, though I suspect the longing actually came from reading Charlotte’s Web as a child. And now, at 28 years old, I am fulfilling a dream, if a strangely quaint one. I will let you know how it goes.

I’m working on several stitching projects, which laying around on the couch helps quite a bit too. Right now the priorities are Caroline’s projects – her Christmas stocking and her birth sampler. The Christmas stocking is going incredibly quickly. I finished Katie’s in three months, but I’ve got at least half of Caroline’s done in just the month that I’ve had the materials. You’ve got to love teachers’ summers! And now, back to it…

1 Comment »

  1. Sara said,

    Lauren,
    That book is one of my favorite. I read it last summer and it changed my life. The only reason I went back to eating bananas was for marathon training. I have since gone back to a banana free life. I have made several of the recipes in there and LOVE LOVE LOVE them. So good!

    I go to the farmers market here in NY at least once a week, if not more and I compost. Crazy, eh? Either way, keep dreaming of heirloom tomatoes and grass-fed beef. YUM!

    And good luck with the entry in the fair! I want to hear all about it. 🙂

    xo,
    s


Leave a Reply

