December 29, 2010

Back in the saddle?

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:36 pm by Lauren

I never know what to say after long absences from the blog. For that matter, Chez Schmanz was all but forgotten in 2010! And that’s probably okay, because nobody really wants to hear the minutae of my pregnancy – but you get to opt in to the minutae of life with a baby. Maybe.

Colin is 7 and a half weeks old, and I may just be able to steal time to post updates on my blog and save for myself some of the experiences of his early days. Goodness knows I am not actually moving any of this to long-term memory, with how tired I am. It will all be soon forgotten, and he’ll standing in the kitchen, towering over me, heading off to college or something.

He has just started “talking” more, and I couldn’t be happier about it. Two nights ago, I was in the bathroom and heard the baby crying. I came out to the bedroom to find him in bed with Allen, calm, and chatting up a storm. Allen was smiling at him, as if he hadn’t just been rudely awoken. Colin was laughing and cooing and making all kinds of noise. Now I can tell the pediatrician at his two month visit that yes, he laughs. At the one month appointment, I said I didn’t really know, but I guess he does make happy noises. At that point, it all sounded like crying or neutral to me. But now that boy is smiling and cooing. My favorite sound is still that relieved half-cry he lets out when we pick him up, and he decides that everything is going to be alright. But it’s still a little sad. So, “Lehhhhhh.”

1 Comment »

  1. Elliott Goodwin said,

    Every picture you post of Colin, he is smiling. I am going to have a very skewed vision of parenthood!


Leave a Reply

